Every year, we hand out several Awards to celebrate the BUTtest feature film, the BUTtest short film, and the most BUTtiful performances. We also give out a special award to a personality whose accomplishments stand out in our genres. The awards are designed by Marc Heijmans. This year’s jury consists of Jean-Paul Arends & William van der Voort (Cinemaatjes), Jürgen Brüning (“Klappe”) and Norbert Pfaffenbiechler (“2551.02 - The Orgy of the Damned” and winner of the BUTtest Feature Award 2022 for his “2551.01 - The Kid”).


BUTtest Feature Award
Awarded by the jury. Nominated films:

Aquarel The Movie | 2023 | Joost Kraan & Pim Kraan | The Netherlands

Dick Dynamite: 1944 | 2022 | Robbie 'Steed' Davidson | Scotland

Enter Mycel | 2022 | Daniel Limmer | Austria

Winnie the Pooh Master of Puppets | 2023 | Timo Rose | Germany


BUTtest Short Award
Awarded by the jury. Nominated films:

Deadline | Idan Gilboa | Israel

Gnomes | Ruwan Suresh Heggelman | Netherlands

Jenglotman dan Keinginan Mertue Jahanam | Beny Kristia, Rakha Magelhaens | Indonesia

Of Youth | Fran Gas | Spain


Bloody Beginner Award

Awarded by the BUTFF 2023 veteran organisers. Celebrating the upcoming BUT talent.

BUTtiful Acting Award 

Awarded by the BUTFF 2023 veteran organisers. Formerly known as ‘the lifetime achievement award’ and ‘groundbreaker award’, this is our prize to honour the cinematographic achievements of our main guests.

BUTest Performance Award
Awarded by BUT’s poets & performance programmers Marijke Hooghwinkel and Nick J. Swarth.